SACS QEP Exploratory Committee

Minutes of the Meeting
(Meeting # 12)
March 23, 2011

Samford Hall, Room 107

Nancy Bernard, Sushil Bhavnani (Chair), Marcia Boosinger, Raj Chaudhury, Drew Clark (SACS Liaison, ex-officio), Deedie  Dowdle, Charles Eick, Stephen Erath, George Flowers, Kathryn Flynn, Andy Gillespie, Amy Hecht, Constance Hendricks, Kathryn Jarvis, Iryna Johnson, Kim Key, Margaret Marshall, Kevin Phelps, Shirley Scott-Harris

The meeting was called to order at 1:30pm.

Minutes of the meeting dated March 9, 2011 (Meeting #11), were approved unanimously as submitted.
The committee was provided a consolidated set of scores that represented rankings received from 26 QEPX committee members. The process of selecting the best concept submissions from the 25 submitted concepts was started. Concepts that ranked at the very top of the list of rankings and those that ranked at the bottom did not need too much discussion. The ones that engendered the most discussion were the ones that ranked in the middle of the quality rankings. After extensive discussion, based on the advertized selection criteria, the committee selected eight concepts for further consideration. One additional concept that did not merit consideration by itself but could have been added to one of the selected proposals was also identified. The committee agreed to ask the author of the concept that might benefit from subsuming this ninth concept before deciding to add it to the list of concepts that would be pursued.

Feedback was provided to Stephen and his sub-committee to refine the Call for Full Proposals. That document was readied for scheduled distribution to authors of selected concepts on March 25. The committee decided to conduct an information session for authors of selected concepts on March 30. This session will be conducted by Drew and Sushil.

The next meeting of the Committee was set for April 6, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:35 p.m

Last Updated: May 25, 2011

Auburn University | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-4000 |
Website Feedback | Privacy | Campus Accessibility | Copyright ©