COSAM » Awards » Staff Awards » Lilly-Lovelace Award

Lilly-Lovelace Distinguished Service Award

The successes of the College of Sciences and Mathematics at Auburn University are often credited to its faculty and students. However, these successes are built upon foundations provided by the efforts of an outstanding and dedicated staff. The Lilly-Lovelace Distinguished Service Award is presented annually and recognizes individual staff members in COSAM who have helped to provide these foundations through exemplary service to the College. Note that there two award categories with one award to be given in each category.

Category #1: General Support Staff (i.e., staff in department and COSAM offices)

Category #2: Instructional and Research Support Staff (i.e., instructional lab coordinators, research lab technicians, and IT staff)

To be eligible, a nominee must be a regular employee who (1) has served as a member of the staff in COSAM or one of its academic units for a minimum of five years, and, through their term of service (2) has excelled in the areas of collegiality, productivity/efficiency and professionalism. Previous recipients of the award cannot be nominated again.

Nominations (three pages maximum) can be made by any staff or faculty member of COSAM and should be submitted electronically as a .pdf file using the Submit a Nomination button below on or before September 12, 2018. Please coordinate with your department or unit chair/head so that we do not have multiple nominations for the same person. If you wish to have supporting letters from multiple people, please combine your letters/comments into a single nomination document. The winner will receive a plaque and a check for $500, and be recognized at the Dean's Leadership Council luncheon on Friday, September 28, 2018.


The Lilly-Lovelace Distinguished Service Award is named in honor of two former COSAM staff members: Eva Lilly and Jan Lovelace. Lilly provided 42 years of service, most of which was in the Department of Geosciences. Lovelace was an executive support assistant in the COSAM Dean’s Office for 13 years. The award was established in 2012 after Lovelace retired.


Previous Recipients

Patrick Stringer
Krysta Diehl

Freddie Killian

JoAnn Broach
Jennifer Morris
Sheila Arington

Lynn Walker

Glenelle Lindsay
Gwen Kirk
Beverley Childress
Stephen Swann


Last Updated: 08/24/2018