COSAM » News » Articles » 2017 » March


Van Wyk receives 2017-2018 Robert K. Butz Award for Excellence in Teaching


Van Wyk has been selected by the Faculty Awards Committee as the recipient of the 2017-2018 Robert K. Butz Award for Excellence in Teaching

Click here to

Zhang wins Undergraduate Dean's Research Award


Ms. Claire Zhang (Dr. Pete Johnson, advisor) has won the Undergraduate Dean's Research Award.

Click here to

From drugstore cowboy to award-winning mathematician


The story of Curt Lindner’s life and career as a mathematician is on full display in his office. Stacks of books and papers cover everything from his desk to a small sofa pushed against a wall. No surface is left untouched. Even the walls are adorned with photographs, notes and drawings, each one a memento of his life and career. Lindner is Distinguished University Professor at Auburn University, and the material in his office represents 48-years of service at Auburn. Featured prominently on his office walls is his best friend, fellow mathematician Alexander Rosa, professor emeritus at McMaster University in Canada. Lindner and Rosa met for the first time, face-to-face, in 1970 at a mathematics conference at the University of Montreal. The two immediately hit it off and began a life-long friendship and working relationship.

Click here to

2017 Spring Job Hunting Workshop to be held March 31


2017 Spring Job Hunting Workshop will feature former student Steven Clontz and current student Dawit Denu.

Click here to

Dr. Dean Hoffman receives the 2017 Kraska Award


Dr. Dean Hoffman is the recipient of the 2017 Kraska Award to be presented at the end-of-Spring-semester gathering.

Click here to

Auburn University honors Faculty Award winners Tuesday night


Auburn University honored its 2016-2017 Faculty Awards recipients Tuesday night at The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center, recognizing some of the institution’s most innovative teachers, researchers and scholars for their unique and distinguished contributions to the university’s mission. Presented annually, the Faculty Awards honor individuals and groups of faculty for excellence in teaching, research and outreach. Following a competitive review process, recipients are chosen by selection committees comprised of faculty, staff, students and alumni. The honorees Tuesday night were named in 2016.

Click here to