

Presidential Task Force for Opportunity and Equity

May 26, 2022

Minutes

Attendees: Angela Cannon, Astin Cole, Kevin Coonrod, Brian Cornish, George Flowers, Joffery Gaymon, Kimberly Mulligan, Melody Russell, Jared Russell, JoEllen Sefton, Jennifer Adams and Amy Weaver.

Task Force Website

Website was updated with all minutes to date and the progress tracker is available on the site.

Institute for African American and Black Studies Subcommittee

Chair: Dr. Melody Russell

Members: Katrina Akande, Cori Akins, Molly Boudreaux, Taffye Clayton, Kevin Coonrod, Norman Godwin, Robin Jaffe, Kimberly Mulligan, Jared Russell, Bruce Smith, Lady Frances Hamilton, Scott Bishop, Gretel Thornton, and Jackson Thomas

We worked on the proposal and put together a rough draft of a PowerPoint for presentation to the main Committee for the upcoming June 23 meeting.

We spoke of the Institute for Strengthening Pathways and Research Knowledge in Stem, (the SPARK STEM institute). This is a separate institute than the one we are proposing. We need to be prepared to differentiate between the two institutes: particularly, when communicating with the National Science Foundation.

The committee discussed the Board of Trustees calendar and deadlines.

We worked on reducing our draft proposal into a PowerPoint presentation.

We discussed the newly proposed name and acronym, AU-IAABEDE, the Auburn University Institute of African American and Black Economic Development and Empowerment.

We deleted the list of peer institutions in the proposal but agreed to have that list at the ready, and to include a slide in the PowerPoint that listed universities that have similar programs to our institute.

We discussed our mission and vision statements and revised them.

Our PowerPoint should include:

- The Vision
- Goals (changed from the heading "Priorities")
- Broad impact
- Structure
- Institution's organizational structure
- Resources
- Funding

We inserted those subjects into the PowerPoint.

We agreed to send the PowerPoint to the subcommittee members who were not present at today's meeting for their input.

Graduate Students Subcommittee

Chairs: Dr. George Flowers and Dr. Jared Russell

Members: Olasubomi Akintola, Akilah Alwan, Mikayla Brown, Chacolby Burns-Johnson, Angela Cannon, Vinicia Biancardi, Astin Cole, Alexicia Richardson, Sedighe Zamani, Angela Cannon, Astin Cole, Brian Cornish, Dustin Johnson, Bridgett King, Ebony Robinson, Cheryl Seals, Aariyan Tooley, Jordan Branchman and Alan Wilson

- Reviewed previous meeting notes.
- Discussed report edits and next step. It was agreed that report was ready for submission to the Chair of the Presidential Task Force.