Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach

The Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach recognizes the engagement of its exemplary faculty members, and demonstrates the tremendous impact Outreach has on our community, state and nation. The bios and accomplishments of our recent recipients are provided below. Here, you can read about their engaged scholarship and dedication to improving the quality of life for all citizens. Their outreach includes technical assistance supporting Alabama industry; a national educational institute for persons with disabilities; application of innovative alternative energy technologies; support for government agencies and officials; and innovative teaching techniques for local schools. These are a few examples of the extraordinary contributions of Auburn faculty to society through the university's outreach mission.

2015 Call for Nominations - Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach

You are invited to submit nominations for the 2015 Auburn University Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach, which is sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for University Outreach. The award, and a $5,000 honorarium, will be presented to one exceptional Auburn faculty member. All full-time faculty including those with extension appointments are eligible. The award criteria stress the overall academic merit and demonstrable impact of the nominee’s outreach.

Nominations should be submitted electronically to as a PDF file in the format outlined in the Call for Nominations. Deadline for receipt of nominations is Monday, March 2, 2015, at 4:00 p.m.

Please share this information and accompanying criteria with faculty in your area.

For further information, contact Ralph Foster, Director of Office of Public Service, at 844-5118.

2014 Award for Excellence

Allen Landers, Howard Carr Professor, Department of Physics, College of Sciences and Mathematics, received the Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach at the Faculty Awards Ceremony on October 23, 2014 at the AU Hotel and Conference Center.

Previous Recipients

Last Updated: March 2, 2015