Comprehensive Analysis of Faculty COMPENSATION, WORKLOAD and PRODUCTIVITY

24 October 2024

Higher Order Principles:

Auburn University's approach to a comprehensive analysis of faculty compensation, workload and productivity should:

Reflect our status as an R-1 institution

Support the expectations and aspirations of new AU Strategic Plan 2035

Provide university wide principles and applicable guidelines that enable and encourage college level decision making responsibility and authority

Facilitate more strategic and effective faculty recruitment, retention, development, and achievement of our faculty

Emphasize total compensation across all sources and activities

Identify ways to incentivize exceptionally productive performance

The Why?

To position and support AU faculty to compete successfully in an increasingly competitive environment

Ad hoc STEERING Workgroup:

Norman Godwin Co-chair, Assoc Provost for Faculty Affairs

Cathleen Erwin Co-chair, Dept Head, Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

Jeff Fairbrother Dean, College of Education

Allan David Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering

Salisa Westrick Dept Head, College of Pharmacy; Member, Univ Budget Advisory

Wes Collins Faculty, CADC; Member, Faculty Salaries & Welfare Comm.

Luke Oeding Faculty, COSAM, AAUP President

Ad hoc ADVISORY Workgroup:

Rishi Prasad Associate Professor, College of Agriculture

Tin-Man Lau Professor, College of Architecture, Design and Construction

Duane Brandon Associate Dean for Faculty and Research; Professor, HCOB

Malti Tuttle Associate Professor, College of Education

Maria Auad Associate Dean, Grad Studies & Faculty Dev., Professor, College of

Engineering

Stephen Ditchkoff Professor, College of Forestry, Wildlife & Environment

Wi-suk Kwon Professor, College of Human Sciences

James Shelley Professor, College of Liberal Arts

Greg Schmidt Head, Special Collections and Archives; Associate Professor;

Auburn Libraries

Kelley Noll Associate Clinical Professor, College of Nursing

Kimberly Braxton-Lloyd Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs & Outreach; Professor, College of

Pharmacy

Doug Goodwin Chair, Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Professor; College of

Sciences and Mathematics

Ann Wooldridge Head, Dept of Clinical Sciences; Professor, College of Vet Medicine

Data Support:

Amanda Malone Director of Budget and HR

Bryan Elmore Asst. VP, Budgets and Business Operations

Matthew Campbell Director, Institutional Research

Ex Officio:

Vini Nathan Provost & SVP Academic Affairs

Kelli Shomaker SVP Business and Admin; Chief Financial Officer