ALGTI – Graduate Program
70-Hour Continuing Education

The current requirements for the Alabama Local Government Training Institute Graduate program requires 70 hours of course work and approved conference participation beyond the mandatory fifty hours. Up to 20 of the 70 hours can be approved conference hours.

The overall hour and distribution requirements are as follows:

  • Acceptance of commissioners into the ALGTI program only after completion of the mandated 50 hour program
  • Development of course curricula designed exclusively for veteran commissioners and relying heavily upon practical skills development
  • A continuing education requirement for retention of the ALGTI Graduate Program status

Up to 20 hours can be applied to the Graduate program from participation in the ACCA annual and legislative conferences, NACO annual and legislative conferences, and the CGS annual Alabama County Government Institute.

The 20 hours can be obtained from a combination of the following possibilities:

  • ACCA Convention - 3 credit hours
  • ACCA Legislative Conference - 2 credit hours
  • NaCo Annual Convention - 3 credit hours
  • NaCo Legislative Conference - 3 credit hours
  • Local Government Institute Luncheon - 2 credit hours
  • Local Government Institute Conference - 10 credit hours

Participants in the Graduate Program may take one additional elective from the pool of four electives offered under the 50-hour mandatory program. Remaining hours can be obtained from the ALGTI Graduate curriculum composed of 10-hour courses including such possibilities as:

  • Financial Administration of Bonds
  • The State Legislature and Local Legislation
  • Emergency Management, Hazardous Materials, Landfills, and Solid Waste Disposal
  • Contracting Procedures (Bids and Specifications)
  • Intergovernmental Relations
  • Visioning and Community-building
  • Economic Development and Growth Management
  • Transparency
  • Law Enforcement and County Commission
  • Understanding County Commission Liability Responsibilities
  • County Program Assessment and Evaluation
  • Decision-making Skills for Countyr Commissioners
  • Government technology decision-making
  • Intra-county communication and cooperation

The ALGTI Board has established an attendance policy which states that the entire course must be taken in order to receive full credit. A commissioner who misses any portion of a course will be required to retake the course in its entirety in order to receive credit for the course.

Registration/Cancellation Rule:

Provided that space is available, receipt of the registration form constitutes registration. Written cancellations, received fifteen (15) working days prior to the beginning of the program will be honored with a partial refund of the registration fee, but will be assessed a $50 administrative charge. Due to commitments to instructors and meeting facilities, late cancellations or non-attendance will not be refunded. Substitutions for registered participants may be made at any time.

More Information

For information and for registration information about these and other professional development courses contact:

  • The Governmental and Economic Development Institute at Auburn University
    213 Extension Hall
    Auburn, Alabama 36849-5225
    Phone: (334) 844-4782 / FAX: (334) 844-1919

(alphabetized by county)

Commissioner County Represented Year Elected
Tucker Dorsey Baldwin County 2010
Charles Gruber Baldwin County 2006
Henry Franklin Barbour County 2000
Patricia H. Ivey Barbour County 2002
Ricky Hubbard Bibb County 2002
James Kelly Bibb County 2006
Allen Armstrong Bibb County 2010
Dean Calvert Blount County 2010
Chris Green Blount County 2012
John L. Adams Bullock County 1996
Don Larkins Bullock County 2016
Allin Whittle Butler County 2012
J. D. Hess Calhoun County 1990
Fred Wilson Calhoun County 2012
Joe L. Banks Chambers County 2010
Sam Bradford Chambers County 2016
Doug Jones Chambers County 2016
Debbie Wood Chambers County 2002
Marcie L. Foster Cherokee County 2012
Michael W. Armistead Choctaw County 2000
Tony L. Cherry Choctaw County 2008
C. D. "Budd" Ruffin Choctaw County 2002
Tyrone Moye Clarke County 2008
Rhondel B. Rhone Clarke County 1990
Ricky Burney Clay County 1996
Ray Milstead Clay County 2012
Laura Morrow Cobb Cleburne County 2012
Terry W. Hendrix Cleburne County 2014
Emmett Owen Cleburne County 2010
Jimmy E. Jones Coffee County 2012
Johnny Andrews Conecuh County 2012
Leonard Millender Conecuh County 1990
Randall Dunham Coosa County 2002
Bertha Kelly Coosa County 2014
Paul Perrett Coosa County 2010
Kerry Watson Cullman County 2014
Mark Blankenship Dale County 2012
Steve McKinnon Dale County 2009
Frankie Wilson Dale County 2016
Larry Nickles Dallas County 2008
Valerie Reubin Dallas County 2016
Ricky Harcrow Dekalb County 1998
Dewitt Jackson Dekalb County 2002
Scott Westbrook DeKalb County 2016
Bart Mercer Elmore County 2016
Brandon Smith Escambia County 2008
Larry White Escambia County 1994
Raymond Wiggins Escambia County 2008
Tim Choate Etowah County 2005
Jeff Overstreet Etowah County 2006
Carolyn Parker Etowah County 2010
Joey Statum Etowah County 2010
Johnny Grant Etowah County 2016
Lester "Bop" Brown Greene County 2014
Tennyson Smith Greene County 2006
Allen Turner, Jr. Greene County 2010
Michael L. Williams Greene County 2014
Donald R. Anderson, Jr. Hale County 2012
Arthur Crawford Hale County 2012
Joe Lee Hamilton, Jr. Hale County 2000
Timothy Rhodes Hale County 2010
David Money Henry County 2012
Gregory Reynolds Henry County 2008
Curtis Harvey Houston County 2005
Douglas Sinquefield Houston County 2012
Mike Roney Lamar County 2012
Danny Pettus Lauderdale County 2014
Sheila Eckman Lee County 2012
Bill English Lee County 2000
Robert Ham Lee County 2010
Johnny Lawrence Lee County 2002
Daryl Sammet Limestone County 1990
Joseph Barganier Lowndes County 2006
Carnell McAlpine Lowndes County 2012
Robert Mike Berry Macon County 2008
Miles Robinson Macon County 1996
Andrew D. Thompson, Jr. Macon County 2004
Roger Jones Madison County 2000
Calvin Martin Marengo County 2004
Michael Thompson Marengo County 2010
Kenny Jackson Marion County 2002
Bobby Burleson Marion County 1994
Merceria L. Ludgood Mobile County 2007
Corey L. Morrow Monroe County 2012
Greg Norris Monroe County 2006
Ray Long Morgan County 2010
Randy Vest Morgan County 2012
Thomas Brett Harrison Perry County 2002
Cedric Hudson Perry County 2012
Ronald Miller Perry County 2000
Timothy Sanderson Perry County 2002
Albert F. Turner Perry County 2002
Charlie Harris Pike County 1993
Larry Joe Roberts Randolph County 2012
Lathonia J. Wright Randolph County 1988
Cattie Epps Russell County 2000
Peggy Martin Russell County 2004
Ronnie Reed Russell County 2004
Jimmy Roberts St. Clair County 1994
Tommy Bowers St. Clair County 2014
Ricky Parker St. Clair County 2018
Drucilla Jackson Sumter County 2006
Joseph Abston Washington County 2012
J. Allen Bailey Washington County 1994
William E. Beasley Washington County 2000
Marion McIntosh Wilcox County 2014
John R. Moton, Jr. Wilcox County 2008
Ricky Powell Wilcox County 2002
David Cummings, Jr. Winston County 2010
Bobby Everett Winston County 2010
Roger Hayes Winston County 1990
Currently serving and formerly elected officials who have completed the ALGTI graduate program.

Last Updated: June 6, 2022