COSAM » News » Articles » 2013 » February » Dr. Marie Kraska Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Marie Kraska Award for Excellence in Teaching

Published: 02/04/2013

Dr. Marie Kraska very recently established the Dr. Marie Kraska Award for Excellence in Teaching. This will be an annual award. 

The Kraska Award will be used to recognize an associate or full professor in the department of Mathematics and Statistics of the College of Sciences and Mathematics for his/her outstanding teaching in statistics. The recipient of this award must be innovative, challenging teacher who is respected by the faculty and by his/her students. The recipient of the Kraska Award will be named by the chair of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, in consultation with a selection committee composed of a COSAM faculty member identified by the dean or associate dean, responsible for graduate studies, an alumnus of the graduate program in statistics, and a current graduate student in the statistics program.  The chair shall establish the selection criteria; however, the donor recommends that they include letters from program graduates. The recipient is eligible to receive the award in subsequent years if selected by the process specified.

The amount of the annual award shall be $1,000 (pre-tax).

Share this article
More stories that may interest you
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.