COSAM » News » Articles » 2017 » April » Alpha Epsilon Delta provides students with a deeper understanding of the health professions

Alpha Epsilon Delta provides students with a deeper understanding of the health professions

Published: 04/20/2017

By: Candis Birchfield

As the premier honor society for students interested in pursuing careers in the health professions, the Auburn chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta provides an opportunity for students to become educated about the doctoral and allied health professions, from the responsibilities and daily routine of various health care providers, to how to become a competitive applicant to professional schools. In addition, Alpha Epsilon Delta strives to promote a service-oriented atmosphere among its members and encourages students to engage in various community service and volunteer activities.

The objectives of AED are to encourage and recognize excellence in premedical scholarship; to stimulate an appreciation of the importance of pre-health education in the study of medicine; to promote cooperation and contacts between pre-health students and educators in developing an adequate program of pre-health education; to bind together students with similar interests; and to use its resources for the benefit of health organizations, charities, and the community.

The 2016-2017 Alpha Epsilon Delta officers are: Candace Clemmons, president; Lexie Gibson, vice president; Anna Boling, secretary; Peyton Camp, treasurer; Charles Evers, historian; and Laura Beth Towery, scalpel reporter. The faculty advisor is Beverley Childress, director of pre-health professions at Auburn University.

The student success of Alpha Epsilon Delta inductees depends, in part, on the support of COSAM faculty and staff, as well as a large community of health professionals. In recognition of the efforts of those who willingly volunteer their time and talent to assisting and mentoring Auburn University students in Alpha Epsilon Delta, the organization may choose to induct honorary members during the annual initiation ceremony.

Five honorary members were named during the 2017 Alpha Epsilon Delta initiation ceremony, including: Matthew Kearley, teaching science labs coordinator for the Department of Biological Sciences; Mark Liles, professor in the Department of Biological Sciences; Elizabeth Lipke, the Sanders Associate Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering; Elizabeth Schwartz, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences; and Dr. John B. Woods, assistant professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and director of OB/Gyn Simulation at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine. 

The 43 new initiates into Alpha Epsilon Delta are the following:

Isabella Aldana
Hallie Logan Bain
Kevin Wesley Bray
Oksana Buksa
Jordan Maria Burlingame
Leah Caroline Byerly
Briana Rachel Carter
Courtney Ann Cleary
Robert William Cronk, III
Danielle Wei Shu Elmore
Kayla LeAnne Frey
Jack Haninger Fruin
Emma Caroline Hale
James Barrett Harris
Hayden Elizabeth Harvard
Kaitlyn Elizabeth Hickman
Brittany Rebecca Hinten
Austin Gray Hughes
Kayla Ann Jennings
Virginia Frances Lampkin
Stephen Gerard Leahy
Graham Christian Llivina
Andrew Yin-Pin Loo
Donald Griffin Lynn
Jordan Elizabeth Mangat
Brannan William Martens
Rebecca Lee Martin
Autumn Elizabeth Matthews
Caroline Elizabeth Murchison
Amanda Nicole Myles
Benjamin James Nelson
Lauren Ashley Oliver
John Kelly Parker
Michael Cyrklen Pursley
Wilson James Ramsey
Matthew Douglas Raymond
Caroline Brenna Richardson
Sarah Reagan Tepool
Taylor Ross Tucker
Marc Sanders Vallee
Todd Kramer Volkman Jr.
Lauren Elizabeth Wade
Grant Patrick Wagner

COSAM congratulates the Alpha Epsilon Delta 2017 initiates!

Share this article
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.