Every single day at the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM), researchers are making a difference.

What IMPACT Do You Want to Make?

Scroll down to learn more about our undergraduate and graduate students, plus our award-winning faculty. These dedicated researchers are making advancements that will help future generations around the globe.


Student Impact:

MilesMiles Blanchet

Read about Miles Blanchet, a graduate student in the Department of Physics wrote a grant to become self-funded so that he could focus on more in-depth research. Learn more about this student who is working on the physical and electrical properties of thin films.

Lori ScottLori Scott

Meet Lori Scott, a graduate student in the Department of Physics that worked on an experiment with the International Space Station. Learn about how she traveled to Munich, Germany to finalize the team's proposal and tested scripts, and how she interacted with  cosmonauts on the International Space Station.

Brady UnzickerBrady Unzicker

Learn about Brady Unzicker, a student in the Department of Physics that is part of an elite class selected the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. Find out more about this exceptional student's honor that coincides with the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 mission

Alex BredarAlex Bredar

Find out more about Alex Bredar. This third-year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry attended the Gordon Research Seminar last year and made such an impact that her peers elected her to be the Co-Chair at the 2020 Electron Donor-Acceptor Interactions. Read about her contributions to this two-day seminar for graduate students and post-doctoral students.

Faculty Impact:

Stewart SchnellerStewart Schneller

Dr. Stewart Schneller was awarded the 2019 Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award for his influence as former dean and professor in Auburn’s College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM). Learn More

Ed ThomasEd Thomas

Meet Dr. Ed Thomas, Jr. He inspired more than 1,500 middle and high school students to learn about science through hands-on demonstrations at the 61st Annual Meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics. Watch a video of students interacting with science demonstrations and learn more about this outreach event.

Rita Graze and Tonia SchwartzRita Graze & Tonia Schwartz

Learn about a grant that researchers Dr. Rita Graze and Dr. Tonia Schwartz received to study aging, develop new vertebrate model and train 50 undergraduate students. Read about this National Institutes of Health (NIH-R15) grant.

Ryan ComesRyan Comes

Meet Dr. Ryan Comes. He is the first researcher from Auburn University to be awarded the the Air Force’s Young Investigator Research Program Award. Read about this grant that will help him develop a new class of metastable oxides.

Paul CobinePaul Cobine

Dr. Paul Cobine is the recipient of the prestigious Gerald and Emily Leischuck Endowed President Award for Excellence in Teaching. Check out why this professor helps elevate the student experience at Auburn through making memorable moments in the classroom and adjusting his teaching philosophy through student feedback.

Karen McNealKaren McNeal

Did you know that  Dr. Karen McNeal and a team of Auburn researchers are the recipients of a highly competitive $3 million National Science Foundation Research Traineeship (NRT) grant to train the next generation of scientists and leaders to conduct cutting-edge interdisciplinary and applied research, develop effective communication skills, and prepare them for the workforce? Learn more about Auburn University's first NRT grant.

Jordan HarshmanJordan Harshman

Meet Dr. Jordan Harshman, who is part of a collaboration to create a chemistry-centric portal of assessment tools. Find out why he feels it is critical to have one online place for educators to find these tools.

Thi Thao Phuong HoangThi Thao Phuong Hoang

Learn about Dr. Phuong Hoang, the recipient of a National Science Foundation grant to research numerical methods for fractured porous mediums.  Read more about her methods for researching global-in-time domain decomposition

Yu LinYu Lin

Did you know that Dr. Yu Lin is part of a team that received the largest grant from NASA?  Find out more about her role as the theory lead on this project to study how solar winds and the Earth's magnetic field interact

Dennis BodewitsDennis Bodewits

See the research that Dr. Dennis Bodewits is conducting with time granted on the Hubble Space Telescope for the second time.  Read about this consecutive opportunity to research objects in our solar system.

Sarit DharSarit Dhar

Learn more about how Dr. Sarit Dhar has made an impact through advocacy. He received the 5 Sigma Physicist Award from the American Physical Society.  Find out about this honor.

Marcelo KurodaMarcelo Kuroda

Check out the research of Dr. Marcelo A. Kuroda. He has received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his work in materials research. Learn more about his project.

Chris EasleyChris Easley

Find out about the impact Dr. Chris Easley is making in the field of diabetes and obesity research. He is the recipient of the 2019 AES Electrophoresis Society Mid-Career Achievement award, and will be speaking at the organization's annual event. Read more about his research.