COSAM News Articles 2019 June Official Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for the Leach Science Center

Official Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for the Leach Science Center

Published: 06/11/2019

By: Maria Gebhardt

"The Department of Physics has had a tremendous impact on our university and beyond," explained Dean Nicholas J. Giordano. "And with the new Leach Science Center we will continue to make an impact nationally and internationally for generations."

The Leach Science Center held its Ribbon Cutting Ceremony on Friday, June 7, 2019. Attendees included Nobel Peace Prize winner and Auburn University alumnus Dr. John Oakberg; Dr. Ernest Burdette who provided generous support to name a research laboratory in this new facility in honor of Dr. Gordon Hughes, a former physics professor; and Dr. Robert Kribel, former department head of physics from 1978 until 1986.

"The new building we are officially opening today brings all parts of the Department of Physics together, under one roof. Instructional labs, classrooms, offices for faculty, study areas, state of the art research labs, plus the unique rooftop terrace where students can get hands on experience with telescopes as they study astronomy will all be housed together in this impressive structure," shared Dean Giordano. "Bringing our students and faculty together in this way will help us elevate the educational experience for the many students who study physics at Auburn."

Auburn University President Steven Leath, Board of Trustees Member Michael A. DeMaioribus and Vice President of Research Dr. James Weyhenmeyer addressed the audience before the official ribbon was cut.

Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected