COSAM News Articles 2022 February R. Graham Cooks from Purdue University delivers Kosolapoff Award and Lecture

R. Graham Cooks from Purdue University delivers Kosolapoff Award and Lecture

Published: 02/22/2022

By: Maria Gebhardt

The 36th annual G.M. Kosolapoff Award and Lecture will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 23 at 7 p.m. with a reception at 6:30 p.m. in the Sciences Center Auditorium.

R. Graham Cooks, the Henry B. Hass Distinguished Professor in Analytical Chemistry from Purdue University, will speak on the topic of Ions for Analysis, Synthesis, and Surgery.

Cooks focuses on research in mass spectrometry. He has published more than 1,200 papers and has been an advisor to more than 150 graduate students during his career. 

This event is co-sponsored by the Auburn University Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Auburn Section of the American Chemical Society. 

Past recipients of this award are as follows:

1986 – William N. Lipscomb, Harvard University

1987 – Herbert C. Brown, Purdue University

1988 – Michael J. S. Dewar, University of Texas at Austin

1989 – Donald J. Cram, University of California at Los Angeles

1990 – Henry Taube, Stanford University

1991 – Derek H. R. Barton, Texas A&M University

1992 – Allen J. Bard, University of Texas at Austin

1993 – Richard E. Smalley, Rice University

1994 – Dudley R. Herschbach, Harvard University

1995 – William von Eggers Doering, Harvard University

1996 – Rudolph A. Marcus, California Institute of Technology

1997 – Mario J. Molina, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1998 – Richard N. Zare, Stanford University

1999 – Jacqueline K. Barton, California Institute of Technology

2000 – Josef Michl, University of Colorado

2001 – Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology

2002 – Ahmed H. Zewail, California Institute of Technology

2003 – John D. Roberts, California Institute of Technology

2004 – Kenneth N. Raymond, University of California at Berkeley

2005 – Ronald Breslow, Columbia University

2006 - Kyriacos C. Nicolaou, Scripps Research Institute

2007 - Robert H. Grubbs, California Institute of Technology

2008 - Barry M. Trost, Stanford University

2009 - Koji Nakanishi, Columbia University 

2010 - Robert H. Crabtree, Yale University

2011 - Eric N. Jacobsen, Harvard University

2012 - Thomas J. Meyer, University of NC at Chapel Hill

2013 - Ei-ichi Negishi, Purdue University

2014 - Daniel G. Nocera, Harvard University

2015 - Edward I. Solomon, Stanford University

2016 - John E. Bercaw, California Institute of Technology

2017 - David W. C. MacMillan, Princeton University

2018 - Marcetta Y. Darensbourg, Texas A & M University

2019 - Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, Yale University

2021 - Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University

Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected