COSAM News Articles 2016 April 2016 Kosolapoff Award presented to Bercaw

2016 Kosolapoff Award presented to Bercaw

Published: 04/28/2016

By: Lindsay Miles

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Auburn Local Section of the American Chemical Society named John E. Bercaw (pictured, left, with Chemistry Professor David Stanbury), Centennial Professor of Chemistry at CalTech, the recipient of the 2016 Kosolapoff Award. Named in honor of Professor G. M. Kosolapoff, an Auburn Chemistry professor renowned for his teaching, the Kosolapoff award lectures bring outstanding chemists to speak each year on topical areas in chemistry that would be of wide interest to the general public. Of the 30 award winners to date, 12 have been Nobel laureates. Bercaw gave two lectures while visiting Auburn University. The first talk, titled, “Approaches to Selective Catalytic Upgrading of Light Hydrocarbons Using Oxidative Routes,” was given on April 6 in conjunction with the award ceremony to a standing-room-only crowd in the Sciences Center Auditorium. The second talk was titled, Light Olefin Trimerization with Chromium and Titanium Catalysts,” and was delivered on April 7 to faculty and students. For more information on the Kosolapoff Award, contact Christian Goldsmith, associate professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, at

Share this article
More stories that may interest you
Latest Headlines
Select a year below.

Stay Connected